Find a Church

Submit Nominees for Office

Elections for diocesan offices will be held on Friday, November 22.   Convocations, Lay Delegates and Clerical Members may make nominations. Follow the instructions on the nominee biographical information form here by November 1 for publication. If other nominations are to be made on the first day of Council, please prepare 550 copies of the completed nomination form for distribution. Candidates are encouraged to be present at the meeting.

Member, Standing Committee (Diocesan Canon 3)

One Lay Member and one Priest Member, each for a three-year term; no successive full terms permitted.

The Standing Committee acts as a Council of Advice to the Bishop, consents to elections and ordinations of Bishops and to ordinations of Diocesan Priests and Deacons, becomes the ecclesiastical  authority should the office of Bishop Diocesan become vacant, and to other matters. It meets as often as needed, frequently monthly.

Deputies to the General Convention (Diocesan Canon 6)

Four canonically resident Clergy Deputies and four Lay Deputies who are communicants in good standing, and a like number of Alternate Deputies in each order. The Deputies will represent the Diocese at the 80th General Convention that will meet at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, Maryland from June 30th to July 9, 2021.

Governor, Mikell Camp and Conference Center (Canon 8)

Two Governors, lay or clerical, for a three-year term; no consecutive full terms.

The board is responsible for the care and maintenance of the physical properties, the programs and activities of the Center, and the uses to which the facilities may be put. The board meets no less than four times a year.

Trustee, Sewanee, University of the South (Canon 10)

One Clerical Trustee, for a three year term; no more than four consecutive full terms. Persons interested in this office must consult with Bishop Diocesan, who nominates one or more candidates. Trustees attend the annual spring meeting at Sewanee and act on issues of substance that affect the governance of the University of the South.

Nominated by the Bishop Diocesan and Elected by the Council

  • Diocesan Officers: Chancellor, Vice Chancellor, Treasurer, Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Registrar (Canon 2)

Each for one-year terms

  • Diocesan Disciplinary Board (Canon 42 for clergy discipline)

One clerical member for a five-year term and one lay member for a four-year term