Find a Church


Elections will be held Friday, November 7, 2014. Convocations, Lay Delegates, and Clerical Members may make nominations. Follow the instructions on the Nominee Biographical Information form including deadlines for publication of the nomination.

If other nominations are to be made on the first day of Council, please prepare 600 copies of the nominee’s qualifications for distribution to the Council and bring them to the Council on November 7 for distribution.


  • Member, Standing Committee (Diocesan Canon 3)

One Lay Member and one Priest Member, each for a three year term; no successive full terms permitted.

The Standing Committee acts as a Council of Advice to the Bishop; consents to elections and ordinations of Bishops and to ordinations of Diocesan Priests and Deacons, becomes the Ecclesiastical  Authority should the office of Bishop Diocesan become vacant, and to other matters. It meets as often as needed, frequently monthly.

5 nominations as of Nov. 3.  Click here.

  • Governor, Mikell Camp and Conference Center (Diocesan Canon 8)

Two Governors, lay or clerical, for a three-year term; no consecutive full terms

The Board is responsible for the care and maintenance of the physical properties, the programs and activities of the Center, and the uses to which the facilities may be put. The Board meets no less than four times a year.

 2 nominations for Mikell board as of Oct. 16. Click here.

  • Trustee, Sewanee, University of the South (Diocesan Canon 10)

One lay Trustee, for a three-year term; no more than four consecutive full terms    (Persons interested in this office must consult with Bishop Diocesan, who places names in nomination.)

Trustees attend the annual spring meeting at Sewanee and act on issues of substance that affect the governance of the University of the South.

 3 nominations for Sewanee trustee as of Oct. 16. Click here.

To be nominated by the Bishop Diocesan and elected by the Council
  • Diocesan Officers: (Diocesan Canon 2): Chancellor, Vice Chancellor, Treasurer, Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Registrar for a one-year term
  • Diocesan Disciplinary Board (for clergy discipline) (Diocesan Canon  42)" one Clerical Member for a five-year term and one Lay Member for a four-year term