Reporting Suspected Abuse
All church personnel (paid and volunteer) in the Episcopal Diocese of Atlanta are considered “Mandated Reporters” and are required by this policy and by Georgia law, to report known or suspected abuse of children or youth to the appropriate state authorities.
By Georgia law, an oral report shall be made immediately, but in no case later than 24 hours from the time there is reasonable cause to believe a child has been abused, by telephone or otherwise and followed by a report in writing, if requested, to a child welfare agency providing protective services, as designated by the Department of Human Services, or, in the absence of such agency, to an appropriate police authority or district attorney. A report to the Rector or other Clergyperson in charge of a parish may constitute fulfilling the above, providing that the clergyperson follows through with the reporting within the 24-hour period and that no changes are made in the report itself.
Reports are taken 24 hours a day by calling 1-855-GA CHILD (1-855-422-4453). If unable to reach DFCS, or if the child is in immediate danger, report to local law enforcement (911) or the district attorney in the county where the child lives.
For additional information: